Posted by: drinkchai | July 23, 2007

Maha Mrityunjaya – Day 1 Yoga.

My Aunt used to tell us to learn and recite this mantra. Never did it, now I have to and want to!

After waking up at 5:30a.m. and getting ready for silent meditation where the latter part of the mediation was all about how not to let my feet fall asleep in the lotus pose.

The part I was dreading was the kirtan – which is reciting Hindu Hymns in a group, till you get lost in it. (Like any Spirituals)

To my surprise, I didn’t dislike it at all and found myself happily playing the tambourine in different rhythms to the songs.  Then because I am  the new resident I was to read a page from a book, incidentally it was about anger and the yogic way to understand and control it. (The Yogi’s never had anyone tell them, “Ah’ma hurchu” or flare nostrils at them after a “uh hmm”)

Then after reciting Maha Mrityunjaya which literally sounds divine in a chorus. There was a short break and a long yoga class followed. The Yoga room is a big one with 5 windows, you can see the big conifers and the eucalyptus trees and the fog is rolling in, crisp clear air in a city with barely any diesel buses. I think it makes a difference to the air quality.

Man-O-Man whoever said yoga is easy or something flimsy should try it. I had forgotten about how intensive it can get and this was amazing. I have a long way to go but by the month’s end I hope to see a lot of changes in my mind and body.

O, by the way I am the only real Indian in this setting. It’s amazing to see how people borrow cultures to suit their way of living, right?. I never thought I’d get to see the other way happen. (American-Ino Vs. Indo-American). Sweet.

Now going to showah and hit a coffee shop for some tea and make the practical life happen.

Responses

  1. what do u mean real indian? are there fake ones? whatchutalkingaboutwillis?


Leave a Reply

Categories

