Posted by: drinkchai | July 22, 2007

Om Shanti

I’ve decided to become a Yogi for a month.

I’ve joined Sivananda Yoga Center a Yoga residency in San Francisco.

I’ll be doing mandatory early morning meditation (6:00-6:30a.m.) and yoga. They ask you take at least 4 Yoga classes a week. I say only 4? They serve you lunch & dinner made with Yoga recipes.

The center is located right across the Golden Gate park and in situated in Cole Valley, right next to public transportation and mini-stores. I share a room with another person and the lights go out at 10:30p.m. So obviously no bars and alcohol, just reading and centering and lots of Yoga.

I will be there for 4 weeks. I hope to leave the place with a tighter belly and a Spiritual Tune-Up.

On more practical levels.

I walked in to a Temping/Recruiting agency last Thursday and Cornelius asked me when I was available? I said “Right now”. So he assigned me to www.cceeb.org right away. Over there they called me the wonder temp. Sweet, great people. You can tell a lot about a person the way they treat a temp, u no ahm sain’…

Supposed to get a job offer on Wednesday and follow through with other interviews that I’ve had. I’ll be doing all this from the Yoga Center, it will also keep me local and I hope to pick up some more temp jobs without reservation till the big doodah happens.

Keep you posted and you do the same.

p.s. FYI – The recruitment agency I work with is called Strategic-Staffing.com They place people for all kinds of placement (PT/FT/Contract/Temp…) all over the country. Ask for Cornelius, tell him I sent you. πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. so thats where you are these days. was wondering what happened to you. yoga retreat sounds divine! om shanti to you too

  2. sounds fun – you may even meet the love of your life there! its funny but this book i just read there is a character in there named Julius and so much of what he does reminds me of you. and so much does not – in a good way. book’s name is The Emperor’s Children. sort of a current day thingy of life in NYC as seen through the eyes of the privileged lot. who being the idiots that they are don’t even realize that they are so privileged.

  3. Hey,

    I’m looking at spending time in a Sivananda residency program, could I ask you some questions about yours? I’ve taken yoga classes off and on the past four years, just graduated from college, and want to spend the year doing something different. I’d really like to learn more about the philosophy of yoga, I know little more than hatha yoga, I’ve read the Bhagavad Gita and other books on yoga, but I don’t know how well I understand it all. Also… religious organizations make me nervous… and I wonder how comfortable I’d feel in this setting. My parents are worried I’m signing up to join a cult- which I certainly do not want to do! I’d really appreciate any advice you could offer me!

    Thanks!

  4. Hey Mel,

    No harm in trying it at all. Remember it’s a cult only if you let it. It depends on your personality, basically I question everything so I’m just a visitor at the Center. They have some rules, sweet people, simple nutritious food and the Yoga is fantastic. Besides that I’m not interested in the liberation of soul and all that…..not right now. πŸ™‚

    Sivananda Yoga Center teachs Sattvic Yoga, there are other kinds of Yoga you can follow for your living depending on what suits you, that’s how it should be. Instead of a swami/master you can always go to the source = which are all the Hindu texts (Puranas/Upanishads/Vedas) but I would start with the Mahabharat it’s terribly entertaining, seriously.

    Hope this helps. Say hello if you stop by.


Leave a Reply

Categories

