Posted by: drinkchai | April 4, 2007

Homemade and Handmade Egyptian Food

My birthday treat at Nassie’s + Leila’s was last Sunday and I was treated like a King with a veritable feast of Rotiserrie Chicken, The Best Potato-au-Gratin, Focaccia, Candied Parsnips and Baby Carrots, Wild Rice (a perfect10)…Can you believe it? Am I a King or something but that night I was. The dessert was a chocolate cake, raised just enough and the inside was a gooey chocolate that was scrumptuously warm, served with raspberry coulis, vanilla ice cream and whipped cream.

Now if anybody knows how to cook…

  • It’s hard to make wild rice taste yummy (not just healthy) this was done par excellance.
  • Potato au gratin has to have that right tangy savory touch and consistency and it did.
  • Rotisserie chicken in restaurants often lack the daring spices but not this one. Not even close.
  • Focaccia usually has too much baking powder but this one you could have for breakfast (I did the next day)
  • How did the chocolate cake rise just enough and manage to hold all the gooey stuff in? Dunno…but ask Leila.

Where was I? Heaven. Eating manna.

I swear Leila has to be the best cook I’ve known in our age group or maybe it’s an Egyptian connection I have/had that I don’t know.

Thanks a lot to you both. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

